When is Lionel Messi’s last match for PSG? Ligue 1 finale vs Clermont Foot set to be star’s Paris send-off

Headline

Products You May Like

Lionel Messi is set to play his last game for PSG after manager Christophe Galtier confirmed that the forward will be leaving the club.

The Parisian side face Clermont Foot in their final game of the season, having already secured the Ligue 1 title with a draw against Strasbourg last weekend. Messi scored in the 1-1 draw to confirm their status as champions.

The World Cup winner has been linked with a move back to Barcelona following a disappointing two years in the French capital. Many hoped he would bring European glory to the club along with Kylian Mbappe and Neymar, but it was not meant to be.

The Sporting News looks at the details ahead of PSG’s fixture against Clermont Foot.

MORE: Barcelona and Inter Miami to team up to sign Messi? How it could work

When is Lionel Messi’s last match for PSG?

This Ligue 1 match from Parc de Princes kicks off on Saturday, June 3 at 21:00 local time.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Sat, June 3 3 p.m. ET
Canada Sat, June 3 3 p.m. ET
UK Sat, June 3 8 p.m. BST
Australia Sun, June 4 5 a.m. AEST
India Sun, June 4 12:30 a.m. IST
Hong Kong Sun, June 4 3 a.m. HKT
Malaysia Sun, June 4 3 a.m. MYT
Singapore Sun, June 4 3 a.m. SGT
New Zealand Sun, June 4 7 a.m. NZST

PSG vs Clermont Foot TV channel, live stream

  TV channel Streaming
Australia beIN Sports 3
Canada Fubo, beIN Sports Connect, Fanatiz
Hong Kong beIN Sports 1 M Plus live, beIN Sports Connect
India Sports18
Malaysia beIN Sports Connect, sooka
New Zealand Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports beIN Sports Connect
Singapore beIN Sports Connect, StarHub TV+
UK BT Sport 6 BT Sport App
USA beIN Sports beIN Sports Connect, beIN Sports en Espanol

UK: The match will broadcast on BT Sport 6 and can be streamed on BT Sport platforms.

USA: This fixture can be will be shown on beIN Sports and streamed on beIN Sports Connect (English) and beIN Sports en Espanyol (Spanish).

Canada: Viewers from Canada can stream this game on Fubo, beIN Sports Connect, and Fanatiz.

Australia: The match will be televised on beIN Sports 3.

MORE: Wrexham squad for The Soccer Tournament

Did PSG want to keep Messi?

Messi started the season on brilliant form for PSG as the French champions were off to a flying start in the league and Champions League. Coupled with a great World Cup with Argentina, it was said that Messi had verbally agreed to stay at the club beyond his current contract.

The attacker however slowly drifted away from the team after a disappointing second half of the season, which saw them eliminated in the last 16 of the Champions League against Bayern.

Despite the performances of the team, and Messi’s suspension due to an unscheduled trip to Saudi Arabia, PSG still wanted to try and secure the services of the winger for at least another season.

However, his love for Barcelona, along with his desire to leave Paris, means that he has decided to leave the club this summer. 

He also reportedly has offers from MSL side Inter Miami and Al Ittihad in Saudi Arabia.

His former teammate and now Barca boss Xavi says Messi will make a decision on his future next week.

“He told me that next week he will make a decision and we have to leave him alone. In the end, if we talk about Leo every day, every day, think he doesn’t add up either,” he told Mundo Deportivo.

“In the end he will decide next week and now there are 200 hypotheses. In the end, he will decide his future and here the doors are open, there is no more debate.

“I have already said many times, he has the doors open here, I am the coach and I know that he will help us if he decides to come, but in the end I think we have to leave him a little alone.”

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Premier League considering scrapping VAR!
Caitlin Clark Indiana Fever jersey: Here’s how you can buy WNBA star’s new jersey on Fanatics
“Even Hardik Pandya Would’ve Been Disappointed…”: Coach Mark Boucher’s Honest Take On MI Skipper
MLB opens investigation into ex-Angel Fletcher
Gloucester-Hartpury beat Trailfinders to seal first place