Japan vs Costa Rica live: World Cup score, highlights, result from 2022 Group E match

Headline

Products You May Like

Japan can put one foot in the last 16 with victory over a demoralised Costa Rica in their second match at Qatar 2022. 

The Samurai Blue produced a shock during the first round of matches at the World Cup, sinking 2014 champions Germany to give themselves a fighting chance of survival in this tournament’s group of death.

Costa Rica were thrashed 7-0 in their opening game by Spain and Luis Enrique’s side can do Japan a favour today: should Hajime Moriyasu’s men win this early game and Spain then defeat Germany, Japan will be into the knockouts.

Sporting News is tracking live scoring updates and highlights for Japan vs Costa Rica at the 2022 World Cup. Follow for complete results from the Group E match in Qatar.

MORE: Japan vs. Costa Rica prediction, odds, betting tips and best bets

Japan vs Costa Rica score

  1H 2H Final
TEAM 1
TEAM 2

Goals:
None

Projected lineups:

Japan predicted lineup (4-2-3-1, right to left): 12. Gonda (GK) — 19. Sakai, 4. Itakura, 16. Yoshida, 5. Nagatomo — 6. Endo, 7. Tanaka — 14. Ito, 15. Kamada 18. Kubo — 10. Maeda

Costa Rica predicted lineup (4-4-2, right to left): 1. Navas (GK) — 16. Martinez, 6. Duarte, 15. Calvo, 8. Oviedo — 4. Fuller, 5. Borges, 17. Tejeda, 9. Bennette — 12. Campbell, 7. Contreras

MORE: Watch every World Cup match live with fuboTV (U.S.-only free trial)

Japan vs Costa Rica live updates, highlights from 2022 World Cup

1 hr 30 mins from kickoff: Japan captain Maya Yoshida says his side will need their dancing shoes today – “The spotlight is on us after the last game and we have to make sure that we don’t dance badly. We’re not through yet.”

2 hrs from kickoff: Japan broke new ground at the World Cup when they came from a goal down to defeat Germany on matchday one. Should they win today against Costa Rica, they will take a huge step towards qualifying for the last 16.

Japan vs Costa Rica lineups, team news

Japan had some injury concerns coming into the World Cup, but those were soothed just in time. Ao Tanaka suffered a knock playing for Fortuna Dusseldorf in the build-up and was replaced in the second half against Germany. His fitness level is unclear.

Japan predicted lineup (4-2-3-1, right to left): 12. Gonda (GK) — 19. Sakai, 4. Itakura, 16. Yoshida, 5. Nagatomo — 6. Endo, 7. Tanaka — 14. Ito, 15. Kamada 18. Kubo — 10. Maeda

There was concern over Costa Rica’s star man and No.1 Keylor Navas’ fitness coming into the tournament. Besides the misery of having seven goals fly past him, Navas looked healthy against Spain.

Costa Rica predicted lineup (4-4-2, right to left): 1. Navas (GK) — 16. Martinez, 6. Duarte, 15. Calvo, 8. Oviedo — 4. Fuller, 5. Borges, 17. Tejeda, 9. Bennette — 12. Campbell, 7. Contreras

Japan vs Costa Rica live stream, TV channel

This match will get underway at 13:00 local time in Qatar, with the Ahmed bin Ali Stadium hosting this potentially decisive match. 

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
Australia Sunday, Nov. 27 21:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
Canada Sunday, Nov. 27 05:00 EST CTV, TSN,
RDS (French)
CTV site/app,
TSN site/app,
RDS app
Hong Kong Sunday, Nov. 27 18:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
India Sunday, Nov. 27 15:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Malaysia Sunday, Nov. 27 18:00 MYT Astro Astro GO
New Zealand Sunday, Nov. 27 23:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW
Singapore Sunday, Nov. 27 18:00 SGT StarHub (Ch. 251/252),
Singtel TV
MeWatch, Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+
UK Sunday, Nov. 27 10:00 GMT ITV 1,
STV (Scotland)
ITV Hub / ITVX,
STV Player (Scotland)
USA Sunday, Nov. 27 05:00 EST FS1, Telemundo fuboTV, Fox Sports site/app,
Telemundo Deportes site/app,
Peacock

Watch the match on fuboTV in USA:

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Preview: The moments keep getting bigger for No. 2 Buckeyes, No. 6 Hoosiers
Trade Deadline talk on #askloj Buyers or Sellers, Will Utah Jazz use picks, Will Jazz tank?
Georgia’s Bennett arrested for public intoxication
Another USMNT player set to join Leeds United
Cardinals coaching rumors: Latest news on Sean Payton, Brian Flores, other candidates in Arizona