College football award winners 2023: LSU QB Jayden Daniels wins Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien awards

NCAA Football

Products You May Like


More than 20 different trophies were handed out Friday, recognizing college football’s top lineman, specialists, skill positions, quarterbacks and coaches ahead of Saturday’s Heisman Trophy ceremony.

LSU quarterback Jayden Daniels and NC State linebacker Payton Wilson were the two biggest winners of the evening and were the only individuals to capture multiple awards.

Daniels started the night edging out fellow Heisman Trophy finalists Bo Nix and Michael Penix Jr. for the Davey O’Brien Award, which honors the top quarterback in the country. He would go on to win the Walter Camp Award, one of two trophies handed out to the player of the year in college football. 

Penix earned the Maxwell Award, the other trophy given to the sport’s best player. It was part of a special night for Washington, as Kalen DeBoer was named Coach of the Year. The duo helped guide Washington to a 13-0 season and the program’s second College Football Playoff appearance. 

Ohio State star Marvin Harrison Jr. became the second player in program history to capture the Biletnikoff Award as the top wide receiver in the country. He joins Terry Glenn, who won the award in 1995.

Georgia’s Brock Bowers became the first two-time Mackey Award winner since its inception in 2000 and the only repeat winner of the night. 

On the defensive side, Wilson secured the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker. He followed that up by becoming the first NC State football player to win the Bednarik Award, honoring him as the country’s best defensive player.

Iowa defensive coordinator Phil Parker took home the Broyles Award, recognizing the top assistant coach. 

Check out the full list of winners for the 2023 college football season below:

Maxwell Award Player of the Year Michael Penix Jr., Washington
Walter Camp Award Player of the Year Jayden Daniels, LSU
Home Depot Award Coach of the Year Kalen DeBoer, Washington 
Jim Thorpe Award Best Defensive Back Trey Taylor, Air Force 
Davey O’Brien Award Best Quarterback Jayden Daniels, LSU
Rimington Award Best Center Jackson Powers-Johnson, Oregon 
Lou Groza Award Best Placekicker Graham Nicholson, Miami (OH)
Butkus Award Best Linebacker Payton Wilson, NC State
Doak Walker Award Best Running Back Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State
Biletnikoff Award Outstanding Receiver Marvin Harrison Jr., Ohio State
John Mackey Award Best Tight End Brock Bowers, Georgia 
Outland Trophy Best Interior Lineman T’Vondre Sweat, Texas 
Ray Guy Award Best Punter Tory Taylor, Iowa 
Bednarik Award Defensive Player of the Year Payton Wilson, NC State
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Defensive Player of the Year Xavier Watts, Notre Dame
Burlsworth Trophy Top Former Walk-On Cody Schrader, Missouri
Disney Spirit Award Most Inspirational Brian Dooley, Eastern Michigan
William V. Campbell Trophy  Academic Heisman Bo Nix, Oregon
Wuerffel Trophy Community Service Ladd McConkey, Georgia 
Broyles Award Top Assistant Coach Phil Parker, Iowa

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

NWSL’s new Nike kits laying foundation for commercial growth
Young son of Blue Jays P Erik Swanson out of ICU after being struck by car
Heavy snow cancels women’s WCup super-G
The Columbus Crew’s ‘6 out of 10’ won MLS Cup. Their encore could be scary
Dwyane Wade and Chris Paul recall how blockbuster Heat trade died over their mutual jersey number